Athina Anastasaki receives EuChemS Lecture Award

Junior ETH Zürich Researcher Athina Anastasaki received the honour in recognition of her major achievements on the field of polymer chemistry.
Marton Kottmayer,

The EuChemS Lecture Award is given every year to one junior scientist working in chemistry in a country with a EuChemS Member Organisation. The award recognises major achievements of scientists generally within 10 years of completing their PhD.

Recipient of the 2022 award Athina Anastasaki is an Assistant Professor at ETH Zürich, leading the Laboratory of Polymeric Materials. Her team’s main research area is fundamental polymer synthesis, self-assembly and chemical recycling predominantly in the area of controlled radical polymerization. As a co-author of numerous publications, Associate Editor in the RSC Journal Polymer Chemistry, and a recipient of an ERC Grant and a wide range of awards – such as the Hanwha-Total IUPAC Young Scientist Award, the Polymers Young Investigator Award, as well as Golden Owl Award in recognition to outstanding faculty teaching, amongst others – she possesses an outstanding research profile, which is now recognised by the Lecture Award.

More information on the EuChemS Lecture Award, as well as about the previous awardees can be found here.

Athina Anastasaki will formally receive the award, and hold a lecture in to an international audience of high-profile chemists at the 9th EuChemS Chemistry Congress (ECC9). ECC9 is organised by the Institute of Chemistry Ireland. It will be held in Dublin, Ireland, in 2024.

Know more about